JAGDA New Designer Awards 2014: exhibition information and selection process

Award Winners
Daijiro Ohara, Junya Kamada and Kentaro Harano

Publication: “Graphic Design in Japan 2014” (June 2014)
Award Ceremony: JAGDA General Assembly 2014 on 27 June 2014 at International Conference Center Hiroshima

Tuesday 20 May to Tuesday 24 June, 2014 at Creation Gallery G8, Tokyo
Monday 14 July to Thursday 24 July, 2014 at Paper Voice Osaka, Osaka
Saturday 6 September to Suturday 20 September, 2014 at Gallery Art Site, Seian Art Center, Seian University of Art and Design, Shiga
Monday 20 October to Friday 7 November, 2014 at Fukuoka Design School, Fukuoka
Thursday 20 to Wednesday 26 November, 2014 at Nagaoka Institute of Design, Niigata
Saturday 17 to Friday January, 2015 at Gallery Aoba, Aoba-gasou 2F, Miyagi
Wednesday, 4 February to Sunday, 8 February 2015 at Design Gallery, International Design Center Nagoya, Aichi
More venues to be announced

JAGDA New Designer Awards 2014

Selection Process of the 2014 JAGDA New Designer Awards
The JAGDA New Designer Award was established in 1983 with the goals of calling attention to outstanding young designers and vitalizing the realm of graphic design. The award winners – normally no more than 3 – are selected each year from among all entrants who have not reached their 40th birthday as of the end of October of the judging year.

This year 190 designers with works featured in the 2014 JAGDA Annual qualified as “new designers” (JAGDA members under age 40 as of October 31, 2013). Among these, a first round of voting was held for the 42 individuals and 1 pair who had 3 or more featured works in total selected in the 10 categories (2 or more if the Integrated Design category was included). The featured works of each designer (or pair) were grouped together at the judging session; all names were kept anonymous. In this first round, the 27 members of the Selection Committee were permitted to cast up to 5 votes in total, but they were not required to use up their quota. A total of 7 designers respectively garnered 9 or more votes, thereby becoming finalists.
The final round of voting was then conducted, only this time with each member of the Selection Committee casting 3 votes in total (without the option of not casting all allotted votes). Again, the designers’ names were kept anonymous. In this round each Committee member indicated his or her choices for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places; a 1st-place vote was worth 3 points, 2nd place 2 points, and 3rd place 1 point. The designers who garnered the most votes in this second round, and who thereby won this year’s JAGDA New Designer Awards, were Kentaro Harano (28 points/13 votes), Daijiro Ohara (25 points/12 votes) and Junya Kamada (25 points/12 votes).